



JOINT DECLARATION ON FUTURE LEADERSHIP FOR POLITICAL INCLUSION IN THE OSCE REGION

A Statement of Young National Legislators

On the occasion of *Future Leadership for Political Inclusion in the OSCE Region: A Seminar for Young Parliamentarians* convened in Washington, D.C. on February 3-4, 2020, parliamentarians and national legislators of the participating States of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe and Partners for Collaboration issued the following joint declaration on youth leadership for comprehensive security:

We, members of parliament and national legislators of the OSCE participating States and the Partners for Collaboration, gathered at the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C. to discuss the importance of political inclusion for young people in the OSCE region and beyond.

Whereas, the role of young people in promoting human rights, peace, and security efforts in both national and international fora must not be underestimated or diminished at this critical juncture for democracies around the globe;

Whereas, comprehensive security, be it politico-military security, economic and environmental security, or human rights, faces more hybrid, malicious, and multiplying threats than we realize;

Whereas, multilateral institutions like the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and the respective parliamentary assemblies, must maintain their stature and utilize its greatest asset for building a brighter future, the youth;

Whereas, recognition of youth inclusion in the theater of politico-military security addresses the complex, systemic, and dynamic challenges posed by emerging technology, regional and territorial conflicts, arms control, cycles of violent extremism and radicalization that lead to terrorism, reform and inclusivity in security sectors that will greatly benefit from the critical input of young people;

Whereas, acknowledgement of the urgency with which global youth-led and supported movements are demanding inclusive growth, urban and rural development, sensible decarbonization and inequality strategies;

Whereas, emphasis on the protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms for all constituents, the protection of national minorities, and promotion of racial and ethnic inclusion bolsters the role of youth in civic engagement, particularly through political action and civil society in service of promoting democracy and human rights.

Resolved, the respective legislative bodies represented in this declaration will exercise their full parliamentary voices to empower their young leadership, and pursue—

- 1. <u>Enhancing</u> parliamentary diplomacy with young political leadership to strengthen transatlantic ties;
- 2. <u>Formalizing</u> a continuity of programming to develop and engage young parliamentarians (under 35 years of age) between parliaments of the OSCE and their partners to focus on transatlantic security and infrastructure to support development and engagement of young parliamentarians;
- 3. <u>Establishing</u> a Young Parliamentarians Working Group at the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly;
- 4. <u>Creating</u> a mechanism or focal point of the OSCE PA to connect all the work done in all the seminars and conferences, related to youth topics;
- 5. <u>Demonstrating</u> respect for international law;
- 6. <u>Promoting</u> the declaration of a climate emergency in every OSCE participating State, in order to reinforce cooperative responses to climate change that empower youth associations and increase youth participation in the public debate;
- 7. Working towards sustainable energy and circular economies; and
- 8. Maintaining an appropriate security presence that ensures common security.

Signatories

Representative Marc Veasey, United States

Representative Richard Hudson, United States

Member of Parliament Halit Valteri, Albania

Member of Parliament Carles Sánchez Rodriguez, Andorra

Member of Parliament Roger Padreny Carmona, Andorra

Member of Parliament Orry Van De Wauwer, Belgium

Member of Parliament František Kopřiva, Czech Republic

Member of Parliament Jaroslav Bžoch, Czech Republic

Member of Parliament Heikki Autto, Finland

Member of Parliament Lorinc Nacsa, Hungary

Member of Parliament Rihards Kols, Latvia

Member of Parliament Sven Clement, Luxembourg

Member of Parliament Betian Kitev, Republic of North Macedonia

Member of Parliament Lucian Stanciu-Viziteu, Romania

Member of Parliament Gregor Perič, Slovenia

Member of Parliament Roza Güclü Hedin, Sweden

Member of Parliament Ayso Bankoğlu, Turkey